If I Could Write A Letter To Me….

You got so much going for you going right, But I know at 17 it’s hard to see past Friday night…And you’re still around to write this letter to me. – Brad Paisley: Letter To Me

I have been seeing people blogging letters to their 14 year old self after getting the idea from DailyPosts.. So I thought I would give it a try. I had a lot of fun reading what other people were writing based on where they are in their current lives. So, I thought I would give this a try….

Dear 14 year old Julia (Unfortunately, I cannot dot the ‘i’ with a heart)

This is a hard letter to write. I am unsure where to start, or if you would even bother to read this. In the wise words of mom, “You don’t have to respond, but you are going to listen”. You are pretty much an idiot. Some of the things which you are going to do is going to be flat out stupid and embarrassing. It will not be at the time, however, when future you goes to find photos of certain things, you did one hell of a job making these photos mortifying.

You are 14, and just started High School. What an amazing time we had there. While living through it, it feels like its going at a snails pace. Believe me, time really does go faster than you think. Future Julia will be graduating college in a few months, and would give almost anything to go back to that security that high school brought. The “you have to wake up every morning and go to school” thing. I will tell you one thing I have learned (and I reflect on a lot), I have no idea how you get up at 6 am to get ready for school for a few reasons.

  1. You wear a uniform. Do you really need to spend 15 minutes debating on wearing a forest green or white polo shirt? 99% of the time you go with that forest green anyway. You do not wear white until the last few weeks of grade 12. There, I saved you 15 minutes.
  2. It does not take long to cake on green eye shadow. Yes, green compliments the brown of your eyes, but there is no need to wear it 13 inches think, especially when you are pairing it with your forest green polo. Oh, it looks horrible also, and no, mom does not suggest to remove 12.75 inches either.
  3. Okay, I understand it takes a long time to get rid of those curls in your hair. Doing this with just a blow dryer and a hairbrush is not the answer. A straightener will be your saving grace. Notice how that blow dried “straight” hair will frizz and curl worse when you walk outside? yeah… Think about that one. But don’t worry, eventually you will invest in an awesome expensive pink straightener and can straighten in 10 minutes.

Straightening your hair, is a great segway into my next point. You will dye your hair this year. It will look pretty good. It is pretty subtle and compliments your olive complexion very well. You will make a decision and it is going to suck. DO NOT keep going lighter. Slap the bitch who suggests blond highlights. This nice hair colour will QUICKLY go to looking far too light, and will only look good when you are standing in direct sunlight or have a flash on draining your colour. See the photo of you and Amanda? Yeah, looks good right? It is because you have no colour in your face. You will love it. you will think it looks great. Let me just tell you, the next 4 years of going lighter and lighter, will kill your hair, and it will take Jamie’s poor mom, 2 years to get your hair back to your natural colour and no split ends.

School is going well for you. You love it, you always will love it. You have a ton of friends right now. Truth be told, when graduation rolls around, you will want nothing to do with anyone anymore. Amanda happens to be the only “BFF” who you remain friends with. Good friends for that matter. You still talk to her almost every day. Don’t pass her off, her friendship will soon mean everything to you.

You are still short. You grew to be a whopping 5 feet. No amount of imagining yourself to be taller will make that happen. See graduation photo. Yes, you are on your tip toes. Your sister will tower over you pretty quickly. This is not a bad thing. She can reach everything on the top shelf for you. A perk of being short? You can wear 5 inch heels, and be a normal height. Cristina wears heels, and she Jack’s bean stock. I do not suggest wearing those super high heels. You will get awful blisters and the poor pedicure women will spend forever dealing with that.

I am not going to sit here and tell you what to do, or what not to do. I am not going to tell you to not put so much effort into your science project since your teacher comes to your house to have mom sign a permission form for you to go to the science fair because you keep telling her your “forgot it” as a nice way to say “there is no way in hell you are going” – you place 3rd overall by the way. I am not going to tell you how disgusting the cafeteria french fries are when you are throwing them up. I am not going to tell you how you really shouldnt have a cookie and chocolate milk every morning before class, and sit in pain for the next 3 hours since you are in denial over being lactose intolerant. I am not going to tell you horrible of a walk it is from school to home which you do every Friday with friends. I am not going to tell you any of that. That is for you to figure out. I am choosing not to tell you because in the end, you are happy. That is all that matters. You are happy. You do not regret anything because you are in an “okay” place with how your life has turned out. Embrace every day, you have some awesome years ahead of you.

Love, Julia – Age 20 years, 5 months.

“You’ve got so much up ahead. You’ll make new friends. You should see your kids and wife. And I’d end by saying have no fear, these are nowhere near the best years of your life..I guess I’ll see you in the mirror”

4 thoughts on “If I Could Write A Letter To Me….

  1. Pingback: Blogmas Day 20 | Life Full of Jules

  2. Pingback: Things I would Tell My Teenage Self | Life Full of Jules

Leave a Reply

