books and hooks

“We read to know we are not alone.” – C.S. Lewis

I like to consider myself a bookworm. I can get lost in a book for hours in the world that lives between the pages. I make a connection to the characters and I genuinely feel happy/sad/anxious/whatever for them.

Lately, I have fallen out of love with reading. It really saddens me. I could sit and talk about what goes on between those pages for hours. Yet I am struggling to get back in to it. It hit me last night. I am in a rut and unable to find something I “love”.

When I was younger I fell in love with an author. I read and own every book she wrote. It was a marathon of reading her books. I am struggling to find that “joy” in an author again. I do not have a favourite. I need suggestions.

I read 4 books by Phillipa Gregory, I enjoyed them, but it wasn’t something I could always read. I really had to get in the right mind frame for her.

I’ve read 7 Jodi Picoult books and I do very much enjoy her. Again, I have to get into the right mind frame to deal with all the ethical dilemmas that she presents.

I have read the mainstream “Hunger Games” and “50 Shades”. Although I read both trilogies I hated them. Im not into the post-apocalyptic world, and E.L James writing and grammar annoyed me. I also do not like the “something borrowed” or “shopoholic” series. I need realistic and less “bubble gum princess”.

Until I fall back in love with reading I have been knitting socks. I had to take a break after suffering a muscle sprain injury caused by constant repetitive motion. I picked it back up today. I forgot how much I love/hate this pattern. It takes forever, yet it looks so pretty!!

 

It is a faux cable pattern done with 5 needles. I know I am going to have Second sock syndrome. It has taken me so long to get this far. When I am done this sock, I will dread doing the same process again. But I am stubborn and refuse to do toe up 2 at a time.

Anyways, could you guys help me out? What are you reading? What do you like? Is there any author you could read over and over again?

9 thoughts on “books and hooks

  1. How do you feel, and how much have you read of the classics? Whenever I lose my “love” of reading, I go back to my all time favorites: Jane Austen or Mark Twain. I really love older authors. I’ve found their work to be full of complexity, but a bit lighter on the social end of things! My disappointment with many modern authors is that it feels like the level of the writing/reading is lower!

  2. I am absolutely sick of this post-apocalyptic theme in lit nowadays. I’m really into history so I really enjoy reading historical fiction but my all time favorite is realism books and some fanatsy. When I was younger I was huge into any fanatsy but the older I get I’m more of a classic person. I’ve been reading classics like Paradise Lost and Les Miserables in the past month and I don’t know if your into those sort of books. I could read anything by Lois Lowry over and over because her writing is amazing. Also Randy Alcorn’s fiction never ceases to amaze me.
    But again I read a lot of differnet things, so I’m probably not the best to ask.

    • I know! Hunger games, divergent, matched, the list goes on. Sure, well written I will give them that but I cannot get into it. I had the same issues when I was younger with “Harry potter” couldn’t get into it at all. I think I’m too much of a realist. You are the third person to recommend “paradise lost” I will definitely look into that one!

Leave a Reply

