Blogmas Day 22

Christmas is doing a little something extra for someone. – Charles Schulz

Jamie and I did our Christmas this morning. I am going to save all of the Christmas festivities stories/photos for one big post after everything is all over. However, I did want to do a post on something I made for Jamie. I was going to do it weeks ago when I originally made it, however, I know that he reads this and I did not want to ruin Christmas.

For his birthday or Christmas I always go the sports route. He is (lightly putting it) OBSESSED with sports. I keep thinking though, how many sport things can you really give someone? So I try to get more and more creative. This year I made coasters! I was actually SO surprised how well they turned out!!!

IMG_4175It was not a good photo due to just how shiny they turned out – you can really tell in the bottom two… and of course the left side turned out blurry. Just work with me.

So to make them I ventured over to Home Depot (all by myself!!!!) I purchased 9 single tiles (I think they were like 20 cents each – completely affordable). The ones I got were 4 1/4 x 4 1/4, I really wanted 4×4 but they did not have them. The ones I got actually turned out to be the perfect size ad I did not have to cut a whole lot of the photos to create the white boarder. After Home Depot, I printed off some photos from different sport things which I thought he would like (NASCAR, football, hockey, baseball – covered all my ‘bases’ – get it?.. I get so proud when I can make a sport reference).

coastersI cut all the photos to fit the coasters as perfectly as I could. I used a scrap booking paper cutter to ensure that the edges were even – so much better than scissors. I then covered the tile in a thin layer of mod podge and attached the photo. I waited 30 minutes for it to dry and then added a layer of mod podge to the photo. I chose to wait the 30 minutes as I figured that the photo would start to warp if it became too saturated. After the first layer on the photo dried for 30 minutes, I applied a coat every 30 minutes for a total of 3 times and then I let it dry over night. The next day I put a layer of polyurethane on it which will protect the photo from liquid. I put a total of 3 layers of the polyurethane on, with 24 hour drying time between each layer. I over did it with the layers, but I wanted it to be perfect. You could definitely get away with 2 layers of mod podge and 1 layer of polyurethane.

Lastly you can apply cork or felt to the back of the coaster with hot glue. I would suggest against the felt as I feel it begins to cheap-ify the coasters where the cork will look more professional. However, Home Depot was out of cork so these babies are bare until the cork comes back!

They were so easy to make, and they look beautiful. Although they are not time consuming to make, the wait time is horrible especially if you are impatient like I am. It was totally worth it though!!!

Supplies:

  • Tiles (I used porcelain as the ceramic was uneven)
  • Photos (scrapbook paper would work also!)
  • Mod Podge
  • Polyurethane
  • Cork (or felt)
  • Hot glue

Directions:

  1. Cut photos to fit tiles
  2. Paint a thin layer of Mod Podge on the tile and secure the photo
  3. Wait 30 minutes for the Mod Podge to dry
  4. Paint a thin layer of Mod Podge on the photo*
  5. Wait 30 minutes for the Mod Podge to dry
  6. Repeat steps 4-5, 2-3 more times
  7. Allow 12 hours for the Mod Podge to fully dry
  8. Paint a layer of polyurethane on the photo*
  9. Allow to dry for 24 hours
  10. Repeat steps 8-9, 2-3 more times
  11. Hot glue the Cork or Felt to the back of the tile
  12. Wrap and give

***ALWAYS paint the Mod Podge and polyurethane the same direction to prevent a criss cross texture****

One thought on “Blogmas Day 22

  1. Pingback: Its the most, wonderful time of the year | Life Full of Jules

Leave a Reply

