A Coffee and a Shopping Trip

“And the idea of just wandering off to a cafe with a notebook and writing and seeing where that takes me for awhile is just bliss.”J. K. Rowling

IMG_0081For the past few days the weather has has been doing nothing but snowing. Most of the time it is on and off, but regardless, there is still snow. AND we all know how much I hate snow. In addition to the horrible wet stuff, it has also been incredible cold. With the windchill, I feel like it has been between -15 and -20 C for the past week or so. Yesterday was another freezing day. It was snowing, wet, and blistering cold. However, around 8:00 my mom said that she had errands to run and essentially if we go with her we will go to a cafe for IMG_0083coffee. So reluctantly Cristina and I agreed to go. We ran all the errands we needed to do, and made our way to a cafe which none of us have gone to. It was really pretty in there. I remember back to first year we had a class where we had to create our own coffee shop, it was all electronic (so you had to make orders, follow customer demand etc). Long story short, at the end of the semester we had to present our coffee shop with how we envisioned it looking. Mine, ironically enough, looked very similar to this one. The only main difference was that I wanted jazz music playing and leather couches. Think Starbucks meets small IMG_0084town local – high end coffee shop. I ended up having a large Chai Tea Latte, Cristina had a large candy cane hot chocolate, and my mom had a small Chai Tea Latte. I have mentioned that I am not the biggest tea lover, but that I love the chai latte from starbucks. This one was really good, however my only complaint was that it was almost too ‘tea’ like. I would have preferred it to be slightly sweeter. Nonetheless, I finished it. My mom, who enjoys tea, really liked it also. Next time, I think I will try the hot chocolate as it looked very rich. We ended up going to the mall to check out and see if they still had some type of sales going IMG_0088on. The mall was pretty busy, still packed with people who had the same idea we had. Essentially it was all picked over, but it wasnt too too bad. Of course, I had to go to Bath and Body Works to look at candles. Although it was pretty bare, I was able to find candles which were not the last week when I went. The sale at BBW was still outstanding. 50-75% off everything. I think we walked around for close to 30 minutes. I was the only one who ended up getting anything. Candles of course. I ended up only purchasing 4. I had 6 in my bag but two of them were not on sale so I thought I would wait. I usually do research on IMG_0090them prior to getting them, but at $3.15 I just buy, so it wasnt really that bad at all. I ended up getting “Sandalwood Vanilla”, “Aromatherapy Energy in Orange Ginger”, “Aromatherapy Lavender Vanilla” and lastly “Sun Tan”. I loved how aromatic the ‘energy’ one was. I fell in love with it right when I smelled it. “Sun Tan” was my shocker. There was something about it that I loved. I was apprehensive about it, yet I could not put it down – so I bought it. Even today I opened it to smell it – it is very unique. The “Sandalwood Vanilla” is essentially like “vanilla with an attitude”. I am excited to start burning them! However, I am anal. I cannot comprehend how people burn multiple candles at once! I have to complete one, and then move on to another one. I cannot mix scents. I would rather enough one full one at a IMG_0089time. I started my “WoodWick” today which I am thrilled about. They have to be my favourite brand. There is something about the crackling of the wick which is so soothing. And of course, you can never go wrong with even burning and and nice, strong, dancing flame.

Leave a Reply

