Quotes to live by

“There was always a line stuck in your head, that was said in a way you wished you could’ve said, but you both knew they were singin’ it right to you” – Eli Young Band: Always the Love Songs

I generally have a hard time finding idea from “Daily Prompt”, however there have been a few which I have really enjoyed the idea. As soon as I read today’s I knew I had to do it.

daily promptI am sure everyone can tell that I absolutely love quotes – After all, I do start each post with a quote. There are a handful of quotes which are my absolute favourite. These are the quotes which I come back to time after time, year after year.

My [probably] number one quote is by Mark Twain.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

This is the epitome of my life. I am a planner, and I am always focused on the final event. I forget to live in the moment, or appreciate every day as I am so focused on an end result. Of course, there will always be an ‘end result’. For example the past 3 years have been focused on graduating college. Why go out when I can stay in to be well rested for school in the morning? I am very cautious. I dont really take risks without weighing the odds first. I do not live in the moment. This quote kind of grounds me and causes me to realize that this time in my life is so small in the big scheme of things. It causes me to try to live a little bit more freely. My favourite line is “Sail away from the safe harbor”. I do what is safe, I do what is right, I do what is comfortable.

Another favourite is by Audrey Hepburn.

” I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

This quote I actually use as my twitter Bio. Pink is my favourite colour, and it will always make everything better. The rest, I feel like it is completely self explanatory  It is so girly, fun, raw and true.

The last favourite which I will share is actually a bible verse, a popular one at that. Proverbs 31:25

“She is clothed in strength and dignity and laughs without fear of the future”

I love this. She is full of strength and honor, and she is able to fearlessly embrace what the future may hold. A lesson which many could learn from. 

 

4 thoughts on “Quotes to live by

  1. Pingback: ABC’s of Me | Life Full of Jules

Leave a Reply

