Inappropriate Songs From My Childhood

“Grown ups are complicated creatures, full of quirks and secrets.” ― Roald Dahl

Does anyone else have a time machine in their closet? You open the door and stuff explodes all over you; memories from the past, the person you used to be. Full of old hopes and dreams and stuff documenting those years. That is my closet. I love it, my mother hates it. Sometimes I like to dig through the mess and get a glimpse of that person who kept all this stuff from years past.

Yikes, that sure got deep, especially since this post is incredibly light hearted. So moving on.. Recently I went through my closet, mostly on the hunt for something. Then I found a bunch of old mixed CDS. You know the coloured blanked discs in pretty colours like blue and pink and orange and could only fit 15-20 songs per disc? I started going through the discs to see the songs I had. Then it kind of it me. Dear Lord,  there were a few of songs which I used to jam to which I didn’t really understand the lyrics or meaning of what I was singing along to.

I was almost in shock by how inappropriate these songs are. These are the songs we used to sign and act out at school (catholic school to boot), and made up our own dances to the songs.

IMG_0382

Boom boom boom boom  – Vegnaboys

Childhood meaning: This song was probably about a sleepover between two friends. They had a lot of fun and wanted the party to last forever.

Lyrics which mean something different: boom boom boom boom I want you in my room / spend the night together from now until forever / boom boom boom boom I want to double boom / let’s spend the night together, together in my room

Genie in a bottle – Christina Aguilera

Childhood meaning: She genuinely was pretending to be a genie. She probably really enjoyed the movie Aladdin. If you touch her bottle right she will grant you 3 wishes.

Lyrics which mean something different:  I’m a genie in a bottle, you gotta rub me the right now /…… you gotta make a big impression, I gotta like what you do / ….. I’m a genie in a bottle baby, come, come, come on and let me out

Confessions part 2 – Usher

Childhood meaning:  yeah.. I cannot even justify this one.

Lyrics which mean something different:  These are my confessions / just when I thought I said all I could say my chick on the side said she got one on the way

Get down – B44

Childhood meaning: I clearly had no idea what was even being said in the song

Lyrics which mean something different:  if you get down on me / I’ll get down on you / I will do anything / That you want me to / it’s a game of give and take / to make it through / so if you get down on me / I’ll get down on you tonight

Wasn’t me – Shaggy

Childhood meaning: He was caught making a mess and he didn’t want to get in trouble so he lied to hide it.

Lyrics which mean something different:  She saw the marks on my shoulder (It wasn’t me) / Heard the words that I told her (It wasn’t me) / Heard the scream get louder (it wasn’t me) / She stayed until it was over

Milkshake – Kelis

Childhood meaning: Literally she is signing about making milkshakes

Lyrics which mean something different:  I can see you’re into it / you want me to teach thee / techniques that freaks these boys / it can’t be bought

Candy Shop – 50 Cent

Childhood meaning : he wants to take her to an actual candy shop and probably buy her a tootsie pop

Lyrics which mean something differentI’ll take you to the candy shop / I’ll let you lick the lollipop / go ‘head girl don’t you stop / keep going ‘til you hit the spot (woah)

10 thoughts on “Inappropriate Songs From My Childhood

  1. me and my roommate were just having this conversation the other day!! we were talking with movies and tv tho! even like disney movies and other “kids” movies. when your a kid you’re just like well that doesn’t make sense. and then you get older and you watch it all and your “haww haww huhhhh, that DOES make sense, SICKOS!!”

  2. I love ALL these songs! Man I used to have jam sessions to Candy shop. And it made me feel cool because the girl in it was named Olivia.
    Confessions pt. 2! Man I’ve been on an Usher kick lately. Me and Carrie were just breakin’ down to Burn the other day!
    Christina is just unbelievable sexy. I love her song Dirrty. I give her a free pass to make all the inappropriate songs she wants.
    Carrie put this on her blog one day, I don’t know if you listened to it but there’s a song called Ride by SoMo and it’s SO addicting but very, very dirty. I highly suggest it 🙂

    This has inspired me to do a throwback song day post soon!

  3. Oh, Genie in a Bottle – we definitely all pictured Aladdin with that one hahah. I remember when I realized what the lyrics were to “Too Close” by Next. I actually just looked them up and they’re even dirtier than I remember!

Leave a Reply

