Wednesday Night Lights

“Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t loose” – Coach Taylor

Every Wednesday for the past few months Jamie has played lacrosse (actually he’s played for a few years now, but the past few months were when I started ‘paying attention’ and not playing Candy Crush or reading on my Kindle – I am such a great girlfriend). I started bringing my camera with me which forced me to kind of follow along the best I could with the game. I still 100% believe the ball needs to light up or something to make it easier to follow.

The season ended on Wednesday which I am so grateful for. The games have been outside, at nights, from 6-7 or 7-8. We live in Canada. It’s November. It is incredibly cold, especially when the sun goes down. I scored some serious girlfriend points ladies. Serious. Girlfriend. Points.

lacrosse

What was nice about Jamie’s team was that some of his friends (including his brother) played together. Which I essentially forced into being my models. Actually, you might remember Steve from when Jamie lived with him.

My mom would joke with me saying I should start a weekly newsletter for the team, full of the pictures I take along with weekly riddles or word puzzles. It would have been perfect if I knew what was happening. I would just click my camera and hope to get some sort of action/emotion/ball. Sometimes I even fooled myself.

lacrosse2

 

Since this is my blog and I can brag if I want to; I fucking roughed it. I am so proud I made it through those long nights. I sat in the rain countless times (wet bleachers + jeans = hell), and the frigid cold.. Wednesday was probably the coldest it’s been in a long time which was disappointing. I ended up bailing with 10 minutes to go. It made me a little sad because I was going to ‘force’ Jamie and his friends into a team picture and if they would let me, I wanted to get individual shots of them with their stick (like a 10 year old soccer picture).. Luckily Josh had my back and took one for me.

Josh

I also got creative and made a little video. I apologize if you live in Germany. Youtube blocked the video for copyrighted music.

One thought on “Wednesday Night Lights

Leave a Reply

