Things I Should Give Up For Lent… But Won’t

“A little bit of mercy makes the world less cold and more just.” – Pope Francis

Untitled-1

Lent officially began on Wednesday. After spending 13 years in the Catholic School system it was always a day which turned to a competition to get the best looking cross ash on our forehead – no one wanted the giant blob looking one.

Fun fact, when I was in grade 4 or 5 – that was when I learned that not everyone was Catholic – not even kidding, I thought everyone was. My mom took me to get my haircut after school while I had the ash cross on my head (I was always told it was a sin to rub it off), and the stylist asked me what it was for, and I wasn’t sure how to answer – after all the whole wide world was Catholic.

My Greek grandmother took the Lent to a whole new level. During Lent, she practically starved (in my mind at least), she wouldn’t have any meat or things which came from an animal (dairy, butter, eggs), oil, and other things. I feel like after all her years of doing that, I can slack a little bit, when it comes to Lent.

So, here is the list of things I should give up for Lent…. But won’t.

Nail Polish – I paint my nails – a lot. 1-2 times a week. Nothing looks better than looking down to a perfectly polished finger. Of course my cuticles need a lot of work, but we are getting there.

Revenge On (the American) Netflix – I don’t know how I just discovered this show. I love it. The main character is also Canadian and grew up about 40 minutes from me. It’s love.

Friday Night Date Nights With Jamie – Over 4.5 years later, and still haven’t missed a Friday.

Fuzzy Socks, A Cozy Blanket, My Kindle – That is Heaven on earth right there. Best Trio EVER. Well the best trio you can’t ingest, because let’s be honest, soup/salad/bread sticks will win every damn time.

EOS Lip Balm – I just can’t. It’s probably an obsession at this point.

Lighting Candles – Every morning and night I have one burning. But I mean, they light candles at church, so I don’t think I could give it up if I wanted to.

Starbucks – It’s just too good. Some people say “Beer is proof God loves us.” But I think it’s Starbucks.

My iPhone – you know, for safety reasons.

———–

What could you never give up for Lent?

5 thoughts on “Things I Should Give Up For Lent… But Won’t

  1. I can totally relate to the Ash Wednesday competition 🙂 Although I don’t think I’ve gotten ashes in about 5 years now… my grandmother would kill me. Funnily enough, I have given up ALL animal products for lent this year. day 5 and still going strong.

    I could never give up coffee for Lent, and YouTube. Obsessed with both to a very scary level 🙂

Leave a Reply

