Remember Me?

“There’s nothing as exciting as a comeback – seeing someone with dreams, watching them fail, and then getting a second chance.” – Rachel Griffiths

photo-1416339442236-8ceb164046f8

Hello! Does anyone even remember me?

This little blog of mine used to bring me so much joy. I couldn’t wait to sit down and just type all my thoughts away. Somewhere along the way the joy started to disappear. It still gives me joy, but the new and exciting ‘I can’t wait to type this all down’ disappeared. I got caught up in all the extras, like self-hosting, and companies sending me things, and learning code, SEO, analytics, the numbers game, and this and that. What was once fun, started to grow and people were reading, and I felt like I had to ‘do more’, I started writing posts which generated views which I didn’t necessarily feel like writing. I stopped writing for me.

The thing is, I miss it. I miss what it was like in the beginning. I miss writing for me. I’ve wanted to ‘come back’ for awhile now, but this hiatus I was on was getting bigger and bigger and I felt like I needed to come back with something BIG and exciting, and the truth is, I am pretty boring lately – let’s blame this super shitty winter, and NO, I do NOT want to build a snowman. I don’t/didn’t have anything BIG to come back with so I kept putting it off, and putting it off.

So I am taking it back. I am going to sit down and just write; be selfish and write for me.

The thing is though, I feel guilty. I feel like when I don’t show up here that I have to apologize. Half of me saying it is ridiculous, but the other half doesn’t because truthfully if it wasn’t for you, the readers friends I don’t think I would have been around for almost 3 crazy years. So, let’s compromise. If I don’t show up, I won’t apologize, just think of me as that flighty friend who everyone hates because they don’t respond to text messages.. But if I do show up, pull up a chair, grab a glass of wine (or a cold can of a Green Monster) and let’s hangout… Because you can guarantee that is exactly what I will be doing.

4 thoughts on “Remember Me?

  1. Quit not coming back. Just write. I mostly do it for the buzz of creatively being bitter about stuff. Just write what you want, and make sure you have a seat ready at your mom’s table, and maybe some day I will actually show up.

    • You should come for Good Friday dinner! It will be extra fun as it happens to be my sister’s birthday also.. there will be cake.. but no meat.

  2. I have similar thoughts to you, Jules! I don’t want to write if I’m not feeling inspired, but at the same time I don’t want to not write. It’s a vicious inspiration-less circle! Having said that, I was super excited to see a post from you pop up on my feed!! Xx

Leave a Reply

