Abandoned Farmhouse

“Art is never finished, only abandoned.” – Leonardo da Vinci

I have a slight obsession with abandoned things – mainly buildings and homes. Well, only buildings and homes – abandoned cars or garbage is just an eye sore… I have always wanted to go inside of an abandoned house/building and photograph it. One of our hospitals closed and it was abandoned for awhile, I was dying to get in there and photograph it, but I (thankfully) waited too long and couldn’t get in because of asbestos.

I discovered a website the other day, where it had a list of all abandoned places in Ontario broken up into subsections based on geographical areas. Wow, I made that sounds more high tech than it really is.. Anyway, there happened to be a not boarded up abandoned farmhouse 5 minutes from me – how I never noticed it before, I don’t know.

I asked my sister to come with me because going alone is just 1) stupid 2) insane… I mean, hello random homeless man who may or may not be claiming this as his house.

We got there, took some pictures on the porch, walked inside took a few more pictures, heard knocking, then we looked at each other and ran back to the car. In hindsight it was just the screen door knocking from the wind.

We have plans to go back and look around a little more, on a day where it isn’t so windy so we don’t get spooked from a door.

IMG_9234 IMG_9238-2 IMG_9240 IMG_9241 IMG_9242 IMG_9244 IMG_9248-2 IMG_9250 IMG_9251 IMG_9252 IMG_9253

One thought on “Abandoned Farmhouse

Leave a Reply

