Is It Fall Yet?

“And I go back to watchin summer fade to fall, Growin up too fast and I do recall, Wishin time would stop right in its tracks” – Kenny Chesney “I Go Back”

photo-1429198739803-7db875882052

I feel like a bad person; bad Canadian for that matter. One thing you don’t do is wish the summer away – YOU. JUST. DON’T.

It seems like since August 1, I have been craving the fall. I have been trying to suppress this craving, afraid for it to surface. I have no idea what it is, after all it is still pretty hot here. I think it must be from all the ‘back to school’ ads. Back to school = fall, even if September is still considered summer.

I can’t seem to wait for the dark nail polish, the hot lattes, the fuzzy socks, the cozy blankets, the cool mornings, the cinnamon, the pumpkins, the hot soups, Jamie intently watching football, soft pretzels, the yoga pants, the scarfs, the chunky sweaters. I. CAN’T. WAIT.

But I am trying to. I am trying to suck in as much summer as possible. I have been trying to sit outside on the deck for a little bit each day with my Kindle. I have been trying to embrace the heat, even if it is just for a little bit longer.

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 10.18.32 AM

After all, it won’t be long before I am longing to be doing just that. Once fall comes, it is like we have 1 month of perfect weather and then it is just a burden.

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 10.19.24 AM

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 10.22.03 AM

 

5 thoughts on “Is It Fall Yet?

  1. Wow you live right by a mountain. It’s been the hottest summer for a while here. Even Seattle, the coolest (temperature wise) place in all of the US during the summer, has been hitting the mid 80’s-mid 90’s. I don’t know what is going on, but when we got a few days where it was cloudy, we were kind of excited. Weird.

    • Haha I’m not sure what mountain you’re referring to. The one possible mountain is the roof of our neighbours.. the giant snowy one is just from shovelling our drive way (I’m 5 feet tall.. so its a little bit taller than me).. Aside from that no mountains at all…. We have been averaging around 30-34 C, which don’t worry I googled the conversion 86-93 F which is I guess the same as you.. We can be bitter together

      • The one in the tablet picture is a roof? So disappointing. Yeah, we can definitely be bitter about this weather together. But then again, I’m always bitter about the weather no matter what it is.

  2. As a person who lives in Michigan, mid-February me is going to hate me for saying this but oh my god retweet this whole thing. I have two fall scented candles staring at me right now but it doesn’t feel right whipping them out in August.

Leave a Reply

